top of page


ASCE NH Scholarships

The minimum scholarships awarded by the Section annually are: 

  • Four $1,000 High School Scholarships can be awarded to graduating seniors.

  • Two $1,000 S. Russel Stearns Scholarships can be awarded to UNH civil engineering students. 

For more information, contact the Scholarship Committee Chair


High School Scholarship

The ASCE New Hampshire High School Scholarship program was established in 2000 to encourage high school students to pursue an engineering degree after high school graduation. The application consists of a brief essay on how civil engineering impacts the applicant's daily life. References and class standing with transcript are required submittals. The applicant must have been accepted to a college-level engineering program (but not necessarily civil engineering).

The top applicants will each receive a $1,000 scholarship to aid them in their pursuit of an undergraduate degree in engineering. Award winners will be based on receipt of all completed application materials and, in the opinion of the judges, the most compelling essay. The scholarship winners, and their families, will be the guests of ASCE-NH at the annual dinner meeting held in June of each year. During the meeting the awards will be presented to the students.

Application Deadline: postmarked/emailed by April 30

S. Russell Stearns Scholarship

S. Russell Stearns (1915-1997) was a professor of engineering at Dartmouth College for a record-setting 54 years. The several Society members contacted attested to his soft-spoken, nurturing grandfatherly nature. With the amazing support of his wife, Lee, Professor Stearns was a leader within the New Hampshire engineering community. He was instrumental in founding and locating Cold Regions Research and Engineering Laboratory (CRREL) in Hanover. A brief, partial listing of his accomplishments, awards, and Society roles follows:

  • New Hampshire Engineer of the Year 1980; 

  • Robert Fletcher Award 1987 (Dartmouth's Thayer School of Engineering);

  • Section Vice President (1968-1969); 

  • Section President-Elect (1969-1970); 

  • Section President (1970-1971); 

  • Elected ASCE National District II Director (1978-1981); 

  • Elected ASCE National President-Elect 1982-1983; 

  • and ASCE National President 1983-1984. 

The S. Russell Stearns Scholarship has been established as an annual award for ASCE Student Members who are enrolled in an ABET-accredited civil engineering program. The Engineering Education Committee will review the applications and convey their recommendation to the Section Board of Directors for approval. The Scholarship(s) will be presented to the recipients at the May membership meeting.

Funding for the scholarships is derived by revenues from the scholarship trust fund and from other contributions made specifically for the endowment account. Proceeds from the Section's Annual Golf Outing are deposited into the scholarship funds, and serve as an important source of continuing revenue to the funds.

Application Deadline: postmarked/emailed by April 30

Please reload



ASCE-NH class is currently


11-week course begins 


Currently Looking for Professors!

Course Fee:

ASCE Member: $300

Non-Member: $450

PE Exam Refresher

OCEA Award

Each year, the NH Section recognizes an exceptional project with the New Hampshire Outstanding Civil Engineering Achievement (OCEA) award.


Nomination Deadline: Submitted via Google Form by EOD April 15 (click Application link below)

Young Engineer/Engineer of the Year

The Engineer of the Year Award and Young Engineer of the Year Award are the highest awards given to individuals by the New Hampshire Engineering Societies. Each award is presented to an engineer who has made outstanding contributions to the engineering profession, the public welfare and humankind.

This award provides the New Hampshire engineering community the opportunity to recognize outstanding individuals worthy of these honors.

Nomination Deadline: postmarked/emailed by TBD (closed for 2024)

bottom of page